Anniversary of sorts

I woke up this morning to see a little dusting of snow on the ground, reminding me of the glorious snow-filled Christmas from a couple of years ago.  There was something special going on that year, and it didn’t have anything to do with the frozen precipitation on the ground.

Well, nothing directly related o it.

I finally succumbed to a friend’s insistence that I join him in his trials in Azeroth.  Yup, I played World of Warcraft for the first time during the snow of aught-eight.  And as I think back to that time, I remember feeling a sense of wonder at all the simple little things that you could do in that virtual world.

You see, I’d never been one of those people that could go into some sort of online space and compete or cooperate with others.  In fact, that shit kind of intimidated to me.  I had played Halo II online and a little bit of Unreal Tournament, but when I jumped into the world of Counter Strike, I realized that I had no skillz to pay the billz. In fact, I wondered why I always got teabagged so quickly.

And I learned what a n00b was.

So I had some sort of reservations about jumping into one of the most popular, if not the most popular, massively multiplayer role-playing games.  I did it because of the free preview, and it wasn’t long before I had bought the expansions, crafting a Blood Elf Paladin to live vicariously through.

It was fun, and I learned a lot about etiquette (even when dual-questing with a good friend), and I learned a lot about the wonder of cooperative play and PVP.  In fact, I would learn about DPS maxing in my spare time, hunting down specific dungeon bosses, hoping for that epic two-handed axe to drop.  I played the auction house like a day trader, and I soon forgot why it was fun.

I would play until my eyes felt like they were going to bleed, and I wouldn’t have fun.  I obsessed over my dailies, and I hated to lose in PVP.

It’s been about six months since I logged in, and I have a lot more free time (relatively speaking, I mean, I do have an eight-month old).  But it’s nice to think of the positives, and right now, I remember that sense of wonder I had while it snowed outside.

Cheers to Calvino and the rest of the Lords of War.

Something to add?

